Paper Test

To achieve optimum quality and have complete control over my book I am printing it myself and having it professionally bound. I am going to produce inkjet prints for the book and as part of this process I tested different paper stocks.

I chose to use Canson Infinity who have a Digital Fine Art paper range. This decision came after reading many positive reviews online, particularly ones comparing it to Hahnemühle which has a big reputation in art and photography.

For the test I used the Canson Infinity Photo Discovery A4 Pack which constists of one sheet of each paper stock:

Canson Infinity Photo A4 Discovery Pack 11 sheets

  • BFK Rives 310gsm
  • Platine Fibre Rag 310gsm
  • Edition Etching Rag 310gsm
  • Rag Photographique 210gsm
  • Baryta Photographique 310gsm
  • PhotoHi Gloss RC 315gsm
  • PhotoGloss Premium RC 270gsm
  • PhotoSatin Premium RC 270gsm
  • Rag Photographique 310gsm
  • Rag Photographique 220gsm
  • Photo Art HD Canvas 400gsm

2014-05-28 12.24.37

2014-05-28 13.23.30

2014-05-28 13.23.23

2014-05-28 13.23.45

2014-05-28 13.23.38

2014-05-28 13.23.58

I really liked the finish from the heavier glossy papers, however I felt they were more suitable for wall prints, whereas I want my book to have a ‘book feel’ combined with high quality prints.

I was surprised that my home inkjet was able to produce nice photographic prints on the 400gsm canvas paper, but this was the furthest from what I was looking for, for my work.

After a lot of side by side comparisons and making edits of my favourite, I decided to use the Rag Photographique 210gsm. This combined high quality, matte finish, unique texture and a suitable weight.

Rag Photographique

This is how the paper is described by Canson Infinity:

Rag Photographique is a 100% cotton museum grade white Fine Art and photo paper. The exceptional smooth white tone is achieved during manufacturing by introducing natural minerals to the process. It has been developed to address the need for continued longevity requirements in the Digital Fine Art market. 

Rag Photographique offers a unique extra smooth surface with a sensual feel. It also provides one of the highest achievable Dmax currently available on the market, making it ideal for fine art photography as well as fine art printmaking.

Product Features & Benefits
• 100% Rag 
• Compatible with pigmented and dye inks 
• Dries instantly 
• Water resistant 
• No Optical Brightening Agents to ensure consistency of shades for generations 
• Designed to meet galleries and museum longevity requirement sand respect the ISO 9706 standard: 
     – Internally buffered to resist gas fading and maximise the conservation of your prints 
     – Acid Free certified to avoid paper degradation

Leave a Reply

